Skip to content

Do you really need 20/20? I investigate.

August 17, 2009

matias-troncoso_ben-trovato18-722x481 Photography by Matias Troncoso.

Spectacle Woman

I wore glasses without lenses and I couldn’t see a damn thing. It was the fad. So were pastel colors and orange lipstick. I’m all the rage right now as I pose for the Danish cameraman who broke dishes in between takes.

It was tradition. We have large bonfires and burn almost everything old in sight. Five hoses wiggle in the yard, waiting. I close my eyes and make a wish. When I open them I’m in contacts and my face is ivory white.

The colors draw my mind in. And purple warms me. Red burns me. I twirl my locks around my finger. I’m nervous and my turtleneck is suffocating me. I grab the fabric at my neck and yank and stretch, singing the blues.

There’s a rhythm between what’s seen and what’s written. Color coordinated.

Answer Key:

astrid-salomon_ben-trovato13 Photography by Astrid Salomon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

